Volver

August 5, 2008

It has been almost two months since my last posting! I intended on posting while in Canada and France, but I never really found the time to do so. While not much has changed since June…except for one thing: Roberto and I made it official on 18 July 2008 and registered as domestic partners! We did not make a big deal of it, and we don’t really intend on having any ceremony or stuff like that, but we have certainly enjoyed the shift in reception we get from friends and family…its like taking 20 minutes out of our life to fill out some papers and pay $40.00US suddenly further legitimized our relationship. But, hey I am not complaining 🙂 We didn’t do it for anyone else…we did it for security.

After we made the step to solidify our present, I am preparing to look forward and currently in the midst of  preparing for a huge change come September: my second-year of graduate school 🙂 This has been one of the first relaxing summers in a long time, and I will be sad to see it go. But its time to return. I have a task to complete…now the issue here is: what form the product take?

As I discussed with you all a few months ago, my intentions for the next year of study were to return (volver) to my roots: Cuba. I proposed a thesis project on Queer Cuban Nationalism, and while the proposal passed…the project no longer seems feasible 😦 I have not had any luck securing access to university libraries and state archives. Considering that my project will be based in historiographical research, it is imperative that I employ primary sources. I KNOW they exist…but I have to accept that I will not have enough time to locate and analyze the sources.

This is where the shift…the change begins to come into focus…(or somewhat)

In Montreal, I visited the Gay Archives of Quebec and attended the Symposium on Queer Feminisms. These experiences provoked me to look north…and in a way return to a topic that I have been interested on studying for the past decade: Sexuality and Quebecois Nationalism. It is a perfect fit 🙂 I fear speaking at length on the possible topic, as I don’t want to jinx this possibly.

but I will share with you another research project that I intend on pursuing independent of my work @ Sarah Lawrence. As most of you know, I am a native of the Bronx. I have lived elsewhere, but the Bronx (and specifically Parkchester) has always been my home. And in the past 10 years since I’ve “come out,” Parkchester and many parts of the Bronx have exploded with queer visibility. The Bronx now has Bronx Pride, a Gay and Lesbian Center, two HIV/AIDS organizations, a feminist/queer arts space, various queer nites at bars/clubs and damn, Roberto and I even registered our domestic partnership in the Bronx! Yet, in light of all these positive changes, a dense air of homo and transphobia continues to linger in this borough. I want to document queer lives in this borough…I want to engage with a history and enthnography of the queer Bronx. So if any of you have any resources, or directions for this project…please let me know.:-)

One Response to “Volver”

  1. It’s interesting – there is a book called “A Passion to Preserve: Gay Men as Keepers of Culture.” It might prove interesting reading for an ethnographic project such as yours.

    TPQ

Leave a Reply

