My first love.

March 7, 2008

In 1989, I began a love affair that has lasted 19 years…with Janet Jackson. As a five year old, I was enthralled by the heavy base beats, soft voice and amazing black and white music videos of Rhythm Nation: 1814. I was not totally aware of the depth of the album’s lyrics, but as I grew older, I not only developed a better consciousness of her message, but a soundtrack reflecting the limitless highs and bottomless lows of my lived experiences.

Four years later, I danced alone in my room to janet. I released my pre-adolescent worries singing everything from “That’s The Way Love Goes” to “Because of Love”. I was shaken by the naughty lyrics of “Throb” and “Anytime, Anyplace”…those songs always required me to don my headphones out of embarrassment. I even broke the wall one evening while practicing my choreography 🙂

Last week, Janet’s lastest album, Discipline, was released…and its amazing! I definitely suggest for everyone to check it out on iTunes (this is a greener and cheaper option to CDs).

The music video to her second album single, Rock With U, was just released yesterday. I am in LOVE with it. Janet is definitely giving me everything I need. Especially from 3 minute 15 to 3 minute 22. Check it out!

3 Responses to “My first love.”

  1. R. Santiago said

    Discipline is the key… The drag influence is crazy in “Rock With U!” Berry stripped down and bare, I 2 must agree that she is gvn me evrything I need!

  2. If you must know, it's Patrick said

    In 1989, everyone in my family got to go see Janet Jackson’s concert at The Forum but me, because I was “too young.”

    It just kinda all around sucks to be me.

  3. brownblackandqueer said

    I’m so in love.

Leave a Reply

